Campus & Community

Harvard Foundation recognizes faculty member, students

2 min read

Members of community honored for improving intercultural relations at the College

The Harvard Foundation recently honored members of the Harvard community who are outstanding contributors to improving intercultural and race relations at the University. More than 40 students and one distinguished faculty member were presented with awards at the annual Harvard Foundation Student/Faculty Awards Dinner held April 28 in Quincy House in memory of David S. Aloian, former Quincy House master. Faculty, administrators, and House masters nominated the student award recipients, who were then chosen by the faculty and student advisory committee of the Harvard Foundation.

The 2006 Special Award for Excellence in Leadership was presented to Kyle Frisina ’06 and Owais Siddiqui ’07. Students who have shown a commitment to improving intercultural life at the College during the entire course of their undergraduate years received the Distinguished Senior Award. The Distinguished Seniors included Jeremy Chang, Ranim Elborai, Yui Hirohashi, Elijah Hutchinson, Hebah Ismail, Zahra Kassam, Nicole Laws, Dina Maxwell, Kathleen McKee, Tracy Tyrone Moore, Benigno Varela, Xi Wang, and Ellen Yiadom. Hutchinson also received an award of Peer Recognition, having been nominated and recommended by his peers, particularly for his work with the Native Americans at Harvard College organization and his recruitment work with the Admissions Office. Hutchinson also traveled to Louisiana last fall to assist with the Harvard Foundation’s hurricane relief initiative.

Harvard Foundation awards were given to students who have displayed a sustained effort to improving racial harmony at Harvard College. Recipients include Lawrence Adjah ’06, Jacki Chou ’07, Nneka Eze ’07, Erin Garner ’07, Jennifer Green ’07, Kevin Koo ’07, Om Lala ’06, Leah Lussier ’07, Ryshelle McCadney ’07, Christine Megerdichian ’07, Diana Montoya-Fontalvo ’07, Michael Nguyen ’08, Rami Sarafa ’07, Deena Shakir ’08, Teddy Styles ’07, Michael Vinson ’07, and Vijay Yanamadala ’07.

The foundation also recognized undergraduates, mostly freshmen and sophomores who have begun to make notable contributions to race relations at Harvard College, with a Certificate of Recognition. These recipients were Robin Bellows ’09, Simi Bhat ’08, Aisha Dennis ’08, Erica Farber ’07, Judy Herbstman ’07, Layusa Isa-Odidi ’09, Muriel Payan ’08, Marisol Pineda Conde ’08, Maria Troien ’07, Beatrice Viramontes ’08, and Armen Yerevanian ’08.

William C. Kirby, dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, was awarded the 2006 Distinguished Faculty Award to acknowledge his support of the mission of the Harvard Foundation and his contributions to its programs during his tenure as dean.