Campus & Community


1 min read

Locke is elected president of APS

Steven E. Locke, associate professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, and staff psychiatrist at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, will assume the presidency of the American Psychosomatic Society (APS) early next month. Founded in 1943, the society’s mission is to promote and advance the scientific understanding of the interrelationships among biological, psychological, social, and behavioral factors in human health and disease.

Spelke and Hauser named MBB directors

Provost Steven Hyman has announced that Elizabeth Spelke and Marc Hauser, both professors of psychology, have been named co-directors of the Mind/Brain/Behavior (MBB) Interfaculty Initiative, succeeding previous directors Anne Harrington, professor of the history of science, and John Dowling, the Gordon and Llura Gund Professor of Neurosciences.

MBB is one of 11 University-wide interfaculty initiatives. Information about MBB and the other interfaculty initiatives is available at the Provost’s Web site at

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks