Students awarded Fisher Prize

1 min read

The Howard T. Fisher Prize for excellence in Geographic Information Science (GIS) for the 2013-14 academic year has been awarded to Graduate School of Design master’s candidate Leif Estrada for “Temporal Morphology: Synthetic Growth and Natural Decline of Alameda Island” and Jake Sobstyl for “Zero-touch scale-free and climate independent thermal energy audits.”

Both students will receive $500. To view the award-winning poster entries, visit

The Fisher Prize was established in 1999 to promote and reward student work in the broad, interdisciplinary subject that is GIS. The prize is named after Howard Taylor Fisher, a geographer and mathematical cartographer who founded the Laboratory for Computer Graphics and Spatial Analysis at the Graduate School of Design in 1965.