Six Harvard members honored by AAAS for outstanding scientific contributors

Widener Library.

Stephanie Mitchell/Harvard file photo

2 min read

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society, selected 564 members as Fellows of AAAS, which  honors members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications in service to society have distinguished them among their peers and colleagues.

“AAAS is proud to honor these individuals who represent the kind of forward thinking the scientific enterprise needs, while also inspiring hope for what can be achieved in the future,” said Sudip S. Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals.

The 2021 class of AAAS Fellows includes scientists, engineers, and innovators from around the world spanning scientific disciplines. They bring a broad diversity of perspectives, innovation, curiosity, and passion that will help sustain the scientific field today and into the future. Many of these individuals have broken barriers to achieve successes in their given disciplines.

The following six members were selected from the Harvard community:

  • Hopi Elisabeth Hoekstra, professor of organismic and evolutionary biology and of molecular and cellular biology and curator of mammalogy in the Museum of Comparative Zoology
  • David Parkes, the George F. Colony Professor of Computer Science, co-director of the Harvard Data Science Initiative, and co-chair of the FAS Master of Science in Data Science and the Harvard Business Analytics Program
  • Joseph Bonventre, chief of the Division of Renal Medicine and chief of the Division of Engineering in Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and the Samuel A. Levine Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School
  • Dan G. Duda, associate professor of radiation oncology at Harvard Medical School and director of translational research at Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Paula I. Watnick, associate professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School
  • Marcia Castro, Andelot Professor of Demography and chair of the Department of Global Health and Population at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

The new Fellows will be celebrated later this year during an in-person gathering.