Jarad Mason named Moore Inventor Fellow

Jarad Mason.

Jarad Mason is an assistant professor of chemistry and chemical biology. Kris Snibbe/Harvard Staff Photographer

2 min read

Jarad Mason, assistant professor of chemistry and chemical biology, has been named one of the Moore Inventor Fellows. Launched in 2016 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Moore’s Law, a prediction about the exponential growth of computing power, the program embraces the spirit of Gordon Moore’s passion for science and penchant for inventing.

“The Moore Inventor Fellowship recognizes the power of innovation to solve problems and reimagine our world,” said Harvey V. Fineberg, president of the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. “We are pleased to recognize the spectrum of disciplines, ideas and approaches embodied in this group of fellows.”

Mason’s invention is a solid refrigerant that will provide sustainable cooling for an ever-warming world. Mason’s research group applies the tools of synthetic chemistry and nanoscience to design materials that address basic science challenges in energy and medicine.

“We are thrilled to support another stellar cohort of Moore Inventor Fellows from institutions across the United States,” said Adam Jones, science program officer. “These awards will enable each fellow to take risks and advance their inventions to the next level.”

“I am very appreciative of this support from the Moore Foundation,” said Jarad Mason. “Thus will allow my group to substantially accelerate our progress toward commercially viable barocaloric cooling systems.”

Other Moore Inventor 2022 Fellows are: David Burghoff, University of Notre Dame; Rebecca Pompano, University of Virginia; Amir Safavi-Naeini, Stanford University; and Stefanie Sydlik, Carnegie Mellon University.

This year, the foundation received nearly 200 nominations, from which five fellows were selected. Each fellow receives a total of $825,000 over three years to drive their invention forward, which includes $50,000 per year from their home institution as a commitment to these outstanding individuals.

More information is available at