GSD students, alumni, receive ASLA Awards

2 min read

The ASLA Awards for 2010 selected two GSD student projects for Honor Awards, and an additional student project received the Award of Excellence. GSD Alumni were also widely recognized for projects spanning the globe, and GSD Alum Edward L. Daugherty BLA ’50, MLA ’51 was awarded the ASLA Medal—the highest honor the ASLA can bestow upon a landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of the public and the environment.

Each year, the ASLA Awards honor the best in landscape architecture and provide a glimpse into the future of the profession. Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture magazine and in many other design and construction industry and general interest media.

Honor Award Recipients

Ecology as Industry
Gyoung Tak Park, MLA ’10, Haein Lee, MLA ’10, Soomin Shin, MLA ’11
Faculty Advisors: Pierre Belanger, Nina-Marie Lister

Designing the Ecology of Democracy
Emily Bonifaci, MLA ’10, Alexis Canter, MLA ’10, Jenelle Clark, MLA ’10, Ilana Cohen, MLA ’10, Casey Elmer, MLA ’11, Julie Gawendo, MLA ’10, Matthew Girard, MLA ’10, Eamonn Hutton, MLA ’10, Diane Lipovsky, MLA ’10, Nilay Mistry, MLAUD ’10, Izabela Riano, MLA ’10, Kerry Rutz, MLA ’11
Faculty Advisor: Gary Hilderbrand

Award of Excellence Recipient

Tactical Operations in the Informal City
Andrew Christopher tenBrink, MLA ’10
Faculty Advisor: Christian Werthmann