Bureau of Study Counsel gives Barrett Award to 3 College students

three students

2019 Barrett Award recipients: James Bedford ’20, Andrew Perez ’20, and Deja Morehead ’20./ Photo by Lori Groscost

2 min read

On May 6, 2019, the Bureau of Study Counsel (BSC) presented the Joseph L. Barrett Award to Deja Morehead ’20, Andrew Perez ’20, and James Bedford ’20. The award commemorates Joseph L. Barrett ’73 by honoring exceptional students who give their time to support their peers in developing more meaningful college experiences.

Deja was honored for her conscientious and dedicated service as a BSC Economics Peer Tutor Fellow (EPTF) and as a voting member of the Honor Council. She has supported students through these roles with kindness, compassion and skill. As an EPTF, she demonstrated a strong grasp of the complexity of peer tutoring and the challenges of supporting students in difficult courses. She spearheaded with another EPTF a group exam prep night. As a member of the Honor Council, she strongly believes in the need for student representation and has played a key role in exploring the complexity of academic integrity issues in a reflective practice group that meet at the BSC.  Deja showed maturity beyond her years and impressive thoughtfulness about the ways to approach difficult conversations about ethical conflicts among the student body.

Andrew and James were honored for their unwavering commitment to the creation of a pre-orientation program, the First-Year Retreat and Experience (FYRE), which was launched in August 2018. They introduced FYRE participants to resources on campus, offered basic cultural capital through small-group conversations and friendship, and fostered connections with faculty and others in a broad community of learners. The successful launch of the program has made a real difference in the lives of fellow students — providing them with essential navigational support, networking, practical information, and perspective-taking