A.R.T to honor Lawrence Bacow and Adele Fleet Bacow at 2023 Gala

The 2023 A.R.T. Gala will honor Adele Fleet Bacow and Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow for their inspiring impact on the arts.

3 min read

American Repertory Theater (A.R.T.) at Harvard University, led by Terrie and Bradley Bloom Artistic Director Diane Paulus ’88 and Executive Director Kelvin Dinkins Jr., announced today its 2023 Gala will honor departing Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow, M.P.P. ’76, J.D. ’76, Ph.D. ’78 and Adele Fleet Bacow for their inspiring impact on the arts at Harvard and beyond. The Harvard campus location of the May 8 event will be announced at a future date.

The A.R.T.’s 2023 Gala will be chaired by Linda Hammett Ory ’82, Ed.M. ’93 and Andrew Ory ’88 and David E. ’93 and Stacey L. Goel. The Gala Committee includes Katie and Paul Buttenwieser ’60, M.D. ’64, Pricilla H. Douglas, Ed.D. ’81, Ann and Graham Gund, M.A.R. ’68, M.A.U.D. ’69, Barbara and Amos Hostetter, M.B.A. ’61, Jeannie ’88, M.B.A. ’92 and  Jonathan Lavine, M.B.A. ’92, Bill ’72 and Leslie Lee, and Penny Pritzker ’81 and Bryan Traubert.

A.R.T.’s annual Gala supports its artistic productions and educational offerings, which center the theater’s mission and vision of expanding the boundaries of theater through programs that engage our hearts, minds, and bodies to imagine collective pathways forward. The 2023 Gala will celebrate Lawrence and Adele Bacow, along with A.R.T.’s commitment to the research and development of groundbreaking theatrical experiences that catalyze dialogue and transformation.

The Gala will begin with a cocktail hour at 6 p.m., followed by dinner, a live auction, and an artistic program. Performers will be announced at a later date.

Previous Gala performers have included Sumayya Ali, Matthew Aucoin ’12, Sara Bareilles, Boston Children’s Chorus, Ayodele Casel, Gavin Creel, Eric B. Davis, Laurel Harris, Crystal Monee Hall, Laura Michelle Kelly, Nicole Kyoung-Mi Lambert, Michael Luwoye, Brittney Mack, Matthew Morrison, Brandon Michael Nase, Desi Oakley, Bryan Perri, Julia Riew ’22, Davóne Tines ’09, Elizabeth Stanley, and Betsy Wolfe.

Previous A.R.T. Gala honorees have included Boston Globe Media Partners CEO Linda Henry, Harvard University’s 28th President Drew Gilpin Faust, trustee and philanthropist Paul Buttenwieser, former trustee and philanthropist RoAnn Costin, former vice chair of Bank of America Anne Finucane, former trustee and philanthropist Rebecca Gold Milikowsky, and trustee and philanthropist Ann Gund.

Half and full table packages starting at $7,500, individual tickets starting at $1,500, and opportunities to support the event —including for individuals unable to attend— are available now at

For additional information, please contact A.R.T.’s development team at