Harvard faculty members are among the 84 people elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

File photo by Rose Lincoln/Harvard Staff Photographer

Campus & Community

Faculty elected to National Academy of Sciences

2 min read

Members are honored for their distinguished and original research

The National Academy of Sciences announced today the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates. Members are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Those elected from Harvard include Myles A. Brown, professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School (HMS) and director of the Center for Functional Cancer Epigenetics at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Oliver Hart, Andrew E. Furer Professor of Economics: Hopi E. Hoekstra, Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology in the Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology and the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology and the curator of mammals at the Museum of Comparative Zoology; Robert E. Kingston, professor and vice chair of the Department of Genetics at HMS and chief of the Department of Molecular Biology at Massachusetts General Hospital; and Steven Pinker, Johnstone Family Professor of Psychology.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and, with the National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Medicine, provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.