Campus & Community

Candidates for overseer and elected director announced

3 min read

Alumni can vote in spring; results announced on May 26

This spring, alumni can vote for a new group of Harvard Overseers and Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) elected directors. The official candidates’ names appear in ballot order below, as determined by lot.

Ballots will be mailed no later than April 1 and must be received in Cambridge by noon on May 20 to be counted. Results of the election will be announced at the HAA’s annual meeting on the afternoon of Commencement on May 26. All holders of Harvard degrees, except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government at Harvard, are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates. The election for HAA directors is open to all Harvard degree holders.

The HAA’s nominating committee has proposed the following candidates in 2016:

For Overseer

Kent Walker ’83 magna cum laude
Senior vice president and general counsel, Google Inc.
Palo Alto, Calif.

Ketanji Brown Jackson ’92 magna cum laude, J.D. ’96 cum laude
Judge, United States District Court for the District of Columbia
Washington, D.C.

Helena Buonanno Foulkes ’86 magna cum laude, M.B.A. ’92
President, CVS/pharmacy; executive vice president, CVS Health
Providence, R.I.

John J. Moon ’89 magna cum laude, A.M. ’93, Ph.D. ’94
Managing director, Morgan Stanley
New York, N.Y.

Alejandro Ramírez Magaña ’94 cum laude, M.B.A. ’01
Chief executive officer, Cinépolis
Mexico City, Mexico

Damian Woetzel, M.P.A. ’07
Artistic director, Vail International Dance Festival; director, Aspen Institute Arts Program, DEMO at the Kennedy Center, and Independent Projects
Roxbury, Conn.

Karen Falkenstein Green ’78 magna cum laude, J.D. ’81 cum laude
Senior partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, LLP

Lindsay Chase-Lansdale ’74 magna cum laude
Associate provost for faculty and Frances Willard Professor of Human Development and Social Policy, Northwestern University
Evanston, Ill.

Candidates for Overseer were nominated by petition:

Ralph Nader, LL.B. ’58
Citizen-activist and author; founder, The Center for Responsive Law and Public Citizen
Washington, D.C.

Stephen Hsu
Professor of theoretical physics and vice president for research and graduate studies, Michigan State University
Okemos, Mich.

Ron Unz ’83 magna cum laude
Software developer and chairman,; Publisher, The Unz Review
Palo Alto, Calif.

Stuart Taylor Jr., J.D. ’77 magna cum laude
Author, journalist, lawyer; nonresident senior fellow, Brookings Institution
Washington, D.C.

Lee C. Cheng ’93 magna cum laude
Chief legal officer, Newegg, Inc.
Santa Ana, Calif.

Candidates nominated by the HAA for Elected Director:

David Battat ’91 magna cum laude
President and chief executive officer, Atrion Corp.
New York, N.Y.

Farai N. Chideya ’90 magna cum laude
Distinguished Writer in Residence, Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute, New York University
New York, N.Y.

Rye Barcott, M.B.A./M.PA. ’09
Managing partner and co-founder, Double Time Capital
Charlotte, N.C.

Susan M. Cheng, M.P.P. ’04, Ed.L.D. ’13
Senior associate dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Georgetown University School of Medicine
Washington, D.C.

Victor Jih, J.D. ’96
Litigation Partner, Irell & Manella LLP
Los Angeles

Eliana Murillo ’10
Head of Multicultural Marketing, Google Inc.
San Francisco, CA

Trey Grayson ’94 cum laude
President and CEO, Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce
Fort Mitchell, Ky.

Janet Nezhad Band ’83 magna cum laude, M.B.A. ’89, J.D. ’90 cum laude
Development consultant to nonprofit organizations
New York, N.Y.

Michael C. Payne ’77 cum laude, M.D. ’81, M.P.H. ’82
Attending physician, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology, Cambridge Health Alliance
Cambridge, Mass.