Campus & Community

American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects 204 new members

2 min read

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences today announced the election of 204 new members, including 16 from Harvard University. The new members include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

Members from Harvard:

Joanna Aizenberg, Amy Smith Berylson Professor of Materials Science

Graham T. Allison Jr., Douglas Dillon Professor of Government at Harvard Kennedy School

Bruce Palmer Bean, Robert Winthrop Professor of Neurobiology

Michael P. Brenner, Glover Professor of Applied Mathematics and Applied Physics and Professor of Physics

Raj Chetty, William Henry Bloomberg Professor of Economics

Elazer Reuven Edelman, professor of medicine

Andrew David Gordon, Lee and Juliet Folger Fund Professor of History

Helen Hardacre, Reischauer Institute Professor of Japanese Religions and Society

Amy Hempel, senior lecturer on English

Vicki C. Jackson, Thurgood Marshall Professor of Constitutional Law

Jill Lepore, David Woods Kemper ’41 Professor of American History

Ann Marie Lipinski, curator, Nieman Foundation

Alvin Francis Poussaint, professor of psychiatry

Bernardo Luis Sabatini, Takeda Professor of Neurobiology

Sarah Elizabeth Thomas, vice president for the Harvard Library and Roy E. Larsen Librarian for the Faculty of Arts and Sciences

Rachel I. Wilson, professor of neurobiology

View the complete list of new members.