Campus & Community

11 elected to American Academy

2 min read

American Academy of Arts and Sciences honorary society

Some of the world’s most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Those elected from Harvard this year are:

David Matthew Altshuler, professor of genetics and professor of medicine

Xandra Owens Breakefield, professor of neurology

Paul Arthur Buttenwieser, clinical instructor in psychiatry

David Winslow Latham, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory astrophysicist and lecturer

Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, Emily Hargroves Fisher Professor of Education

Joseph Loscalzo, Hersey Professor of the Theory and Practice of Physic and chair of the Department of Medicine

John Francis Manning, Bruce Bromley Professor of Law

Richard J. Murnane, Juliana W. and William Foss Thompson Professor of Education and Society

Charles Alexander Nelson III, professor of neurology, psychology, and pediatrics

William James Poorvu, Class of 1961 Adjunct Professor in Entrepreneurship Emeritus

Xiaowei Zhuang, professor of chemistry and chemical biology and professor of physics

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

“Election to the Academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good,” said American Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”

For a full list of new members.