Campus & Community

Two elected to NAS

1 min read

Athey and Zhuang join most recent group to gain honor

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) elected additional members at its annual meeting on April 30. Harvard professors Susan Athey, Department of Economics, and Xiaowei Zhuang, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology and Harvard’s Howard Hughes Medical Institute, were among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries recognized for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Those elected bring the total number of active members to 2,152 and the total number of foreign associates to 430. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

In January, the NAS honored 17 individuals, including four Harvard faculty members: Michael J. Hopkins, Andrew H. Knoll, Jonathan B. Losos, and Jason P. Mitchell.

View the complete list from the April election.