Campus & Community

American Academy inducts 17 faculty

1 min read

American Academy of Arts and Sciences announces 230th class

A group of Harvard faculty members has been inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences 230th class of fellows, which totaled 210 new fellows and 18 foreign honorary members.

The 17 fellows from Harvard, officially recognized in an Oct. 9 ceremony, were celebrated for their cutting-edge research and scholarship, artistic accomplishment, and exemplary service to society.

“The induction ceremony celebrates the academy’s mission and the accomplishments of its newly elected members,” said American Academy President Leslie Berlowitz. “Through three centuries of service, the academy and its fellows have been dedicated to intellectual leadership and constructive action in America and the world.”

The fellows from Harvard follow:

Harvey Cantor, Baruj Benacerraf Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School

Harvey G. Cox Jr., Hollis Research Professor of Divinity, Emeritus, Harvard Divinity School

Ronald A. DePinho, professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School

Edward Glaeser, Fred and Eleanor Glimp Professor of Economics; director, Taubman Center for State and Local Government; director, Rappaport Institute for Greater Boston

Jack L. Goldsmith, Henry L. Shattuck Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

David Haig, George Putnam Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology

Evelyn L. Hu, Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering