Campus & Community

National Academy of Sciences awards honor to nine from Harvard

2 min read

Nine Harvard faculty members are among 72 newly elected National Academy of Sciences members and 18 foreign associates chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The mission of the National Academy of Sciences, a private organization of scientists and engineers, is to further science and its contribution to general welfare.  The academy was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls it to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

The nine newly elected members from Harvard are: