Campus & Community

Overseer and Elected Director candidates announced for 2010-11

2 min read

This spring, alumni can vote for a new group of Harvard Overseers and Elected Directors for the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) board.

Ballots will be mailed no later than April 1 and must be received back in Cambridge by noon on May 21 to be counted. Results of the election will be announced at the HAA’s annual meeting on the afternoon of Commencement day (May 27). All holders of Harvard degrees, except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government, are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates. The election for HAA directors is open to all Harvard degree holders.

Candidates for Overseer may also be nominated by petition, that is, by obtaining a prescribed number of signatures from eligible degree holders. The deadline for all petitions is Feb. 1.

The HAA’s nominating committee has proposed the following candidates in 2010:

For Overseer

Cheryl Dorsey ’85, M.D. ’91, M.P.P. ’92, president, EchoingGreen, New York City

Joseph Fuller ’79, M.B.A. ’81, co-founder, vice-chairman, and CEO, Monitor Group, Cambridge, Mass.

David Heyman ’83, film producer, London

Walter Isaacson ’74, CEO, The Aspen Institute, Washington, D.C.

Nicholas Kristof ’82, columnist, The New York Times, New York City

Karen Nelson Moore ’70, J.D. ’73, United States Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, Cleveland

Diana Nelson ’84, director, Carlson Companies Inc., San Francisco

David Tang ’75, managing partner for Asia, K&L Gates, Seattle

For Elected Director

Kenneth Bartels ’73, M.B.A. ’76, president and CEO, Paxton Properties Inc., New York City

Roger Fairfax Jr. ’94, J.D. ’98, law professor, George Washington University Law School, Washington, D.C.

Mark Fusco’83, M.B.A. ’90, CEO, Aspen Tech, Westwood, Mass.

Lindsay Hyde ’04, founder and president; Strong Women, Strong Girls; Boston

M. Margaret Kemeny ’68, professor of surgery, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine; chief of surgical oncology and director of Queens Cancer Center; New York City

George Newhouse Jr. ’76, Partner Brown, White & Newhouse LLP, Los Angeles

Reynaldo Valencia J.D. ’90, associate dean for administration and finance; professor of corporate and securities law, St. Mary’s University School of Law, San Antonio

Victoria Wells Wulsin ’75, M.P.H. ’82, D.P.H. ’85, physician, Mid-City Pediatrics, Cincinnati

Irene Wu ’91, director of international research, U.S. Federal Communications Commission; adjunct professor, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.