Campus & Community

M-RCBG names spring fellows, scholars

4 min read

A Korean Trade official, a member of the Northern Ireland civil service, a founder of AllWorld Network, and a British public policy scholar are among the incoming visitors being welcomed this spring at the Mossavar-Rahmani Center for Business and Government at the Harvard Kennedy School (HKS).

“Fellows and scholars are a vital resource at the center as they provide both valuable experience and a fresh lens through which to view the business-government relationship,” said Roger Porter, the center’s director and the IBM Professor of Business and Government. “We welcome these visitors and look forward to their interaction with our faculty, continuing fellows, researchers, students, and others.”

Visiting scholars and fellows programs are designed to reach outside the center to better understand how business and government engage in the creation of public value.


Anne Habiby is one of the founders of the Initiative for a Competitive Inner City (ICIC), a nonprofit launched in 1995 by Michael Porter, the Bishop William Lawrence University Professor at Harvard Business School, to expand the job and business base of distressed urban areas. From 1996 to mid-2005, Habiby led the organization as its co-executive director, collaborating closely with Porter to advance the economic potential of inner cities. She was instrumental in creating the Inner City 100 with Inc. Magazine, an annual ranking of the fastest-growing companies in America’s urban areas. In 2008, Habiby co-founded AllWorld Network, creating AllWorld Rankings to identify fast-growth companies from the emerging world (Africa 500, Arabian 500, Asian 500, and Americas 500) and help countries develop entrepreneurial growth strategies.

Fiona Hamill is deputy treasury officer of accounts for the Northern Ireland Civil Service (NICS). A senior civil servant and professional accountant, Hamill held a number of senior finance positions in public sector organizations before moving to a more strategic role in 2006, leading the design and implementation of a financial shared services program. She now leads the team responsible for providing direction, advice, and guidance on accounting and accountability matters within the NICS, which includes a commitment to raising the standard of financial management practice within the Northern Ireland public sector. As a Fulbright Scholar, Hamill will focus on identifying best practice financial management structures in the United States and will look at how such structures are resourced and supported, with a specific focus on organizational culture.

Hyo-Sung Park is a senior fellow with the center. As a career diplomat, he has worked for the Korean Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade since 1981. Park’s expertise centers around international trade, and his career includes stints as director-general for Free Trade Agreement (FTA) negotiations, adviser to the minister for trade, minister-counselor at the Permanent Mission to the World Trade Organization (WTO) in Geneva, director for the North American Trade Division, and director for the European Trade Division, among other positions. He will continue his diplomatic career following his senior fellowship.


David Coen is professor of public policy and deputy head of the department of political science in the School of Public Policy at University College London (UCL), and has held appointments at the London Business School and the Max Planck Institute in Cologne, Germany. At the European University Institute in Florence, Italy, he was awarded a Ph.D., with distinction, on business lobbying in the European Union. Coen is currently a Fulbright Scholar at the Centre for European Studies and an associate fellow at the Warwick Business School. He has also held the position of chair of the International Political Studies Association (IPSA) Research Committee on Business and Government, chair of the London Public Policy Group, and chair of the Public Policy and Development Research Committee of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). Coen has been awarded grants from the Anglo-German Foundation, British Academy, European Union, Friends of UCL, and Fulbright Foundation.

The four will join returning resident senior fellows Jane Nelson and Mark Fagan, and nonresident senior fellows Baris Dincer, Chip Feiss, John Foote, David Grayson, Mark Kramer, Dierdre Phillips, John Sherman, Joelle Schmitz, Mario Valdivia, Holly Wise, and Simon Zadek.