Campus & Community

College’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter welcomes 48 new members

3 min read

Forty-eight seniors were recently elected to the Harvard College chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (PBK), Alpha Iota of Massachusetts.

The Alpha Iota of Massachusetts chapter of Phi Beta Kappa was first established under a charter in 1779. Shifting from a social and debating club in its early years to an undergraduate honor society in the 19th century, PBK is known as the oldest academic honor society in the country.

Under the national Phi Beta Kappa mission to foster and recognize excellence in the liberal arts and sciences, election to Alpha Iota of Massachusetts signifies that an undergraduate has demonstrated excellence, reach, originality, and rigor in his or her course of study. The honor society recognizes those whose course work demonstrates not only high achievement, but also breadth of interest, depth of understanding, and intellectual honesty. Twenty-four juniors are elected each spring, 48 seniors each fall, and a further number sufficient to bring the total membership to no more than 10 percent of the graduating class in the final election shortly before Commencement.

Adams House: Charles Gordon Nathanson, math; Charles Harker Rhodes, linguistics; Dana Alexandra Stern, government; David Cherngchiun Yang, math/economics; and Fan Zhang, math/economics.

Cabot House : Alice Nian-en Lee, social studies; and Garrett Gordon Dash Nelson, social studies.

Currier House : Christine Ann Eckhardt, neurobiology; and Won Hee Park, economics.

Dunster House: Brenton Naska Speed, government; Vivek Viswanathan, history; and Wenxin Xu, chemical and physical biology.

Eliot House: Joanna Raine Binney, biology.

Kirkland House: Andrew Ken-Wei Chan, government/economics; Hannah Kim Frank, organismic and evolutionary biology; James Eric Goldschmidt, Romance languages and literature/literature; Christopher Bruno Lacaria, history; and Tracy Li, economics.

Leverett House: Kelly Ann Alverson, economics; Charles Chen, math; Patrick Ryan Chesnut, history and literature; Jamie Randall Fuld, economics; Jesse Meeker Kaplan, history of science; and Adam Roth Singerman, special concentrations.

Lowell House: Lin Cong, physics/math; Allen Cheng, chemistry; David Peter Daniels, government; Jean Amanda Junior, sociology; Maxwell Stuart Mishkin, government; Jacob Nathan Sanders, chemistry and physics/math; and Brian Matthew Weller, applied math.

Mather House: Diana Catherine Wise, history and literature.

Pforzheimer House: Connemara Doran, history of science; Kyle Quinby Haddad-Fonda, history/Near Eastern languages and civilizations; Roger Rennan Fu, Earth and planetary science/astronomy; Mitchell C. Hunter, government; Julia Louise Renaud, history and literature; and Xiaodi Wu, biology.

Quincy House: Kathryn Shu-yeng Austin, classics/philosophy; Philippa Gibson Eccles, history of art and architecture; Russell Phelps Kelley, molecular and cellular biology; Nadira Lalji, government; John Daniel Lesieutre, math; Eric I-Hwa Lu, anthropology; and Keller Cliffton Rinaudo, social studies.

Winthrop House: Thomas Booth Salomon Dolinger, English; Ruwan Gunaratne, chemistry and physics; and Norman Ying Yao, physics/computer science.