Campus & Community

American Academy of Arts and Sciences inducts fellows

2 min read

Twenty Harvard University faculty members were inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) at a ceremony at the academy on Oct. 11. The AAAS is one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies and independent policy research centers. Celebrated for cutting-edge research and scholarship, artistic accomplishment, and exemplary service to society, the 228th class of fellows includes the following Harvard faculty:

Susan C. Athey, professor of economics

Mahzarin Banaji, Richard Clark Cabot Professor of Social Ethics

Janet Browne, Aramont Professor of the History of Science

Benjamin Buchloh, Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Modern Art

Lawrence Buell, Powell M. Cabot Professor of American Literature

Nancy F. Cott, Jonathan Trumbull Professor of American History; director, Schlesinger Library

Daniel Gilbert, Harvard College Professor, professor of psychology

Jerome Groopman, Dina and Raphael Recanati Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School (HMS)

Rakesh Jain, Andrew Werk Cook Professor of Tumor Biology, Harvard-MIT Health Sciences and Technology, HMS

David Kazhdan, professor emeritus

Judith Lieberman, professor of pediatrics; senior investigator, CBR Institute for Biomedical Research, HMS

Timothy J. Mitchison, Hasib Sabbagh Professor of Systems Biology, HMS

Gulru Necipoglu, Aga Khan Professor of Islamic Art; director, Aga Khan Program

Norbert Perrimon, professor, Department of Genetics, HMS

Jeremy C. Stein, Moise Safra Professor of Economics

Kevin Struhl, David Wesley Gaiser Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, HMS

William J. Stuntz, Henry J. Friendly Professor of Law, Harvard Law School (HLS)

Xiaoliang Sunney Xie, professor of chemistry

Elizabeth Warren, Leo Gottlieb Professor of Law, HLS

Leonard I. Zon, Grousbeck Professor in Hematology and Oncology, HMS

Founded in 1780, the academy honors excellence each year by electing to membership the finest minds and most influential leaders of the day.

“The induction ceremony is an opportunity to welcome new members and celebrate the extraordinary history of the organization, now in its third century of service to the nation,” said Chief Executive Officer Leslie Berlowitz. “Throughout its history, fellows of the academy have been dedicated to advancing intellectual thought and constructive action in America and the world. We are confident that our newest group of fellows will help us fulfill that mission in significant ways.”

The 190 new fellows and 22 new foreign honorary members are leaders in scholarship, business, the arts, and public affairs. They come from 20 states and 15 countries, and range in age from 37 to 86. The new members represent universities, corporations, museums, research institutes, media outlets, and foundations.