Campus & Community

KSG faculty group names recipients of Stone Fellowship and prize

2 min read

The Kennedy School of Government’s Environment and Natural Resources Faculty Group recently announced that the 2006 Stone Fellowship has been awarded to Fan Zhang, a Ph.D. candidate in public policy, for her paper “Does Electricity Restructuring Benefit the Environment? Theory and Evidence of Intertemporal Emission Trading in the U.S. SO2 Allowance Market.” The Stone Fellowship is given for the best paper written by a doctoral student in the area of environmental and resource policy.

The competition is open to doctoral students from throughout Harvard and the fellowship includes a $5,000 honorarium. The faculty committee for the award consisted of professors James Hammitt, Robert Lawrence, Erich Muehlegger, Theodore Panayotou, and Robert Stavins.

Another faculty committee selected master in public policy student Jordi Honey-RoséÈs as the recipient of the 2006 Stone Prize for her paper “Estimating the Social Benefits of Protecting Minimum Instream Flows: The Case of the Ter River in Catalonia, Spain.” The Stone Prize, which includes a $1,000 honorarium, is given for the best paper written by a master’s degree student in the area of environmental and resource policy.

This award committee was made up of Robert Frosch, Calestous Juma, Robert Stavins, and Robert Stowe. The recipient was selected from a set of submissions from students in the following master’s programs: public policy, public administration, and public administration in international development.

The Stone Fellowship and the Stone Prize are supported by the Stone Fund for the Environment at the Kennedy School. The fund also provides other support for graduate student and faculty research, writing, and outreach in the environmental and resource area. The Stone Fund receives its financial support from the James and Cathleen Stone Foundation.