Campus & Community


1 min read

Theda Skocpol named winner of prestigious Skytte Prize

The Skytte Foundation at Uppsala University, Sweden, has awarded its 2007 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science, one of the largest and most prestigious in the discipline, to Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Dean Theda Skocpol. Skocpol, who is also the Victor S. Thomas Professor of Government and Sociology, received the prize for her “visionary analysis of the significance of the state for revolutions, welfare, and political trust, pursued with theoretical depth and empirical evidence.” The sum of this year’s prize is 500,000 Swedish crowns (approximately $70,000) and comes from the donation by Johan Skytte in 1622.

Charles V. Willie receives Speaker and Specialist Grant Award

Charles V. Willie, the Charles W. Eliot Professor of Education Emeritus of the Graduate School of Education, recently received a U.S. Speaker and Specialist Grant Award from the U.S. State Department. With the grant, Willie lectured at the College of the Bahamas and elsewhere in the Commonwealth of the Bahamas during Education Awareness Week and Black History Month this past February.