Campus & Community

HAA overseer and elected director candidates

3 min read

This spring, alumni can vote for a new group of Harvard Overseers and elected directors for the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) board.

Ballots should arrive in the mail by April 15 and must be received in Cambridge, Mass., by noon on June 1 to be counted. Results of the election will be announced at the HAA’s annual meeting on the afternoon of Commencement, June 7. All holders of Harvard degrees, except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government, are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates.

The HAA’s nominating committee has proposed the following candidates in 2007:

For Overseer

Ronald Cohen M.B.A. ’69, chairman, Portland Capital and the Portland Trust, London

Lucy Fisher A.B. ’71, film producer and co-head, Red Wagon Entertainment, Los Angeles

Yuki Moore Laurenti A.B. ’79, director of Capital Campaign, Isles Inc., Trenton, N.J.

Champ Lyons Jr. A.B. ’62, associate justice, Supreme Court of Alabama, Montgomery

Richard A. Meserve J.D. ’75, president, Carnegie Institution, Washington, D.C.

Lisa M. Quiroz A.B. ’83, M.B.A. ’90, senior vice president, Corporate Responsibility and Inclusion, Time Warner Inc., New York

Richard R. Schrock Ph.D. ’72,  Frederick G. Keyes Professor of Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.

Stephanie D. Wilson S.B. ’88, astronaut, NASA, Houston

For Elected Director

Stephen W. Baird A.B. ’74, president and CEO, Baird & Warner Inc., Chicago

Richard B. Cooperstein A.B. ’88, M.B.A. ’95, senior vice president, finance, business development and equity ventures, Walt Disney Co., Burbank, Calif.

Elena C. Crespo A.B. ’89, M.B.A. ’93, senior vice president, director of client management, Citi Analytics, Citigroup Inc., New York

Catherine A. Gellert A.B. ’93, partner, Windcrest Partners, New York

B. Lane MacDonald A.B. ’88, General Partner, Alta Communications, Boston

William E. Markus A.B. ’60, president, Markwalt Inc., Pittsburgh

Phuong-Vien Nguyen A.B. ’86, vice president, Morgan Stanley, Corona del Mar, Calif.

Nana Amma Twum-Danso A.B. ’94, M.D. ’98, physician; director, Mebendazole Donation Initiative, The Task Force for Child Survival and Development, Emory University, Decatur, Ga.

Sally Williams-Allen M.A.T. ’65, senior adviser in alumni relations, INSEAD, Paris

The HAA nominating committee proposes Overseer and elected director candidates each year. The committee’s 12 voting members include three current or former Overseers and nine other alumni chosen by the HAA Executive Committee. Overseer and HAA elected director candidates may also be nominated by means of petitions signed by a prescribed number of eligible degree holders and filed by a set date early in the year.