Campus & Community


2 min read

Brazelton receives 2006 Arnold Lucius Gesell Prize

T. Berry Brazelton, clinical professor of pediatrics emeritus at Harvard Medical School, was recently honored with the 2006 Arnold Lucius Gesell Prize. The Theodor Hellbrugge Foundation in Munich recognized Brazelton for his outstanding lifetime achievements, saying, “Dr. Brazelton’s path-breaking studies form the foundation of our understanding of the crucial importance of early behavioral diagnostics and the treatment of psychosocial and emotional disorders in infancy.”

The prestigious Arnold Lucius Gesell Prize is conferred annually on researchers who have made significant contributions to the field of child development. It was created in 1996 in honor of its namesake, the pediatrician and psychologist who founded the Yale Clinic of Child Development.

Spiegelman, Dana-Farber researcher, elected to EMBO

Professor of Cell Biology Bruce Spiegelman has been elected an associate member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), Europe’s foremost life-sciences community. A scientist at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Spiegelman joined four other non-Europeans recently elected to the organization.

“I am thankful for this honor,” says Spiegelman. “Science is an international endeavor and I appreciate the confidence of my European colleagues.” Spiegelman is recognized internationally for his research into cell differentiation, cellular energy metabolism, and genetic factors involved in obesity and diabetes.

Kleinman receives SMA award

The executive board of the Society for Medical Anthropology (SMA) recently bestowed its 2006 Career Achievement Award to Arthur Kleinman, Harvard’s Esther and Sidney Rabb Professor of Anthropology. According to the award citation, Kleinman received the honor for his contributions to medical anthropology, including the co-founding of the subfield, his “teaching and mentoring of generations of students,” and his contributions to the scholarly literature. Kleinman accepted the award at a Nov. 17 ceremony in San Jose, Calif.

American Chemical Society recognizes DNA-repair work

Erving Professor of Chemistry Gregory L. Verdine and graduate student Anirban Banerjee have been awarded this year’s Nobel Laureate Signature Award from the American Chemical Society for their work and research on DNA repair. Their findings will be featured in an upcoming review article in the journal Nature.