Campus & Community

Harvard Fulbright Scholars named

3 min read

Prestigious exchange program fosters mutual understanding across the globe

Nine Harvard College students who graduated this past June and 14 current and former graduate students of the University have been named U.S. Fulbright Scholars for the 2006-07 academic year. Additionally, a field of 24 international scholars has been named Harvard University Fulbright Visiting Scholars for the upcoming academic year. While in Cambridge, the scholars will lecture or conduct research at the University. A complete list of all Fulbright grant recipients, including any additional Harvard affiliates, will be available in October.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, participating governments, and host institutions in the United States and abroad, these exchange programs promote mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the citizens of other countries. Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has sent approximately 103,000 American scholars to other parts of the world for study and research, while welcoming nearly 171,000 visiting scholars to the United States.

The following 2006 Harvard College graduates, including their field of study and destination, will travel abroad for the upcoming academic year as U.S. Fulbright student scholarship recipients.

Jennifer Gao (biology, Germany); Malgorzata Kurjanska (Eastern European studies, Poland); Inna Livitz (Eastern European history, Hungary); Henry Mak (law, China); Jessica Marglin (Middle Eastern history, Israel); Namrata Patel (economic development, India); Dustin Saldarriaga (teaching English as a foreign language, Uruguay); Monique Smith (public health, Jamaica); and Chenwei Wu (medicine, Malaysia).

The following graduate students will travel abroad: Mujon Baghai (Harvard Law School [HLS], Italy); Lydia Bean (Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences [GSAS], sociology, Canada); Yelena Biberman (GSAS, political science, Russia); Denise Ho (GSAS, history, China); Amos Jones (HLS, Australia); Robert Karl (GSAS, Latin American and Caribbean history, Colombia); Kyong-Mi Kwon (GSAS, Eastern Asian languages and literature, Japan); Megan Luke (GSAS, art and architectural history, Germany); Sean McGraw (GSAS, political science, Ireland); Jeffrey Moser (GSAS, East Asian, Pacific, and Australian studies, Taiwan); Anthony Shenoda (GSAS, anthropology, Egypt); Julie Silverstein (Kennedy School of Government, public administration/policy, Israel); C. Cora True-Frost (HLS, Sierra Leone); and Thomas Walley (GSAS, Eastern Asian languages and literature, Japan). Additionally, Harvard lecturers John Norvell (anthropology) and Jonathan Eastwood (political science) have also been named U.S. Fulbright Scholars.

The following Fulbright Visiting Scholars will be resident on the Harvard campus this academic year. The list includes each recipient’s field of study and home country.

Mentor Agani (American studies, Kosovo); Petr Bartunek (biological sciences, Czech Republic), Chuing Chou (education, Taiwan); Berengere Deprez (language and literature, Belgium); Ofer Fainaro (medical sciences, Israel); Guillermo Velasco Grajales (political science, Mexico); Keiko Hirao (sociology, Japan); Hsin-chuan Ho (philosophy, Taiwan); Oktyabrina Khaykhadaeva (economics, Russia); Asad-ul Iqbal Latif (political science, Singapore); Tae Jin Lee (public/global health, South Korea); Izhak Levanon (medical science, Israel); Ning Liu (language and literature, China); Tereza Porybna (anthropology, Czech Republic); Rosanna Rahman (biological sciences, New Zealand), Bulat Rakhimzyanov (history, Russia); Olena Rusina (history, Ukraine); Yulia Sapozhnikova (American literature, Russia); Sakthivel Selvaraj (economics, India); Emil Souleimanov (Sulejmanov) (political science, Czech Republic); Assaf Yasur-Landau (archaeology, Israel); Jui-Chien Wang (business administration, Taiwan); Liping Wang (law, China); and Mingjian Zha (language and literature, China).