Campus & Community

KSG faculty groups select recipients for Stone Prizes

2 min read

The Kennedy School of Governments (KSG) Environment and Natural Resources Faculty Group has announced that the Stone Fellowship for the best paper written by a doctoral student in the area of environmental and resource policy during 2005 has been conferred upon Cynthia Lin, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Economics. Lin, who will receive her Ph.D. in economics this June, was awarded the fellowship for her paper Do Firms Interact Strategically? An Empirical Analysis of Investment Timing Decisions in Offshore Petroleum Production.

The competition is open to doctoral students from throughout Harvard, and the fellowship includes a $5,000 honorarium. The faculty committee for the award consisted of Professors William Hogan, Erich Muehlegger, and Robert Stavins.

Another faculty committee selected master in public policy (M.P.P.) student Jaclyn Marks as this year’s recipient of the Stone Prize for her paper “The Future of Solar Incentives in the State of California:  Transitioning from Capacity Based Buy-Downs to Performance-Based Incentives.” The Stone Prize, which includes a $1,000 honorarium, is given for the best paper written by a master’s student in the area of environmental and resource policy.

This award committee was made up of Robert Frosch, Calestous Juma, Henry Lee, and Robert Stavins. The recipient was selected from a set of outstanding submissions from students in the M.P.P., master in public administration (M.P.A.), and master in public administration in international development (M.P.A./ID) programs.

The Stone Fellowship and the Stone Prize are supported by the Stone Fund for the Environment at KSG, which also provides support for graduate student and faculty research, writing, and outreach in the environmental and natural resource fields. The Stone Fund receives it financial support from the James and Cathleen Stone Foundation at the Boston Foundation.