Campus & Community


2 min read

HBS profs awarded paper prize

Harvard Business School (HBS) Associate Professors Lee Fleming and Jan W. Rivkin, with co-author Olav Sorenson, have won a 2005 European Meeting on Applied Evolutionary Economics Best Paper Award for “Complexity and the Diffusion of Knowledge.” Fleming has also received the 2005 Richard R. Nelson Prize for his paper “Science and the Diffusion of Knowledge,” also co-authored with Sorenson.

Narayanamurti honored with named chair at UCSB

Venkatesh “Venky” Narayanamurti, dean of the Division of Engineering and the Applied Sciences, has been honored by two alumni from the University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB). Karl and Pamela Lopker and the Lopker Family Foundation have made a major gift to help establish the first endowed chair in computer science at UCSB and have named the chair for Narayanamurti, who served as dean of UCSB’s College of Engineering from 1992 until 1998.

“This generous support not only honors the visionary leadership and significant contributions of UCSB’s former dean of engineering, Venky Narayanamurti, but it is also a tribute to our outstanding College of Engineering,” said Chancellor Henry Yang.

Endowed chairs are highly prized academic positions that enable a university to develop more fully a field of study by providing ongoing financial support for enhanced research and instruction.

Asian American Legal Defense recognizes Ogletree with award

The Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund – a New York-based organization that promotes and protects the civil rights of Asian Americans nationwide – will honor Jesse Climenko Professor of Law Charles J. Ogletree with its Justice in Action Award at its annual New Year’s benefit gala in February. The Justice in Action Award recognizes outstanding career achievements and contributions in advancing social justice and equality.

HBS professor receives ProAward

In recognition of his many contributions to the field of human resources, Louis E. Kirstein Professor of Human Relations Jay W. Lorsch of Harvard Business School (HBS) has received the 2005 ProAward from the International Association of Corporate & Professional Recruitment.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks