Campus & Community


2 min read

Sevcenko gets honorary degree

Ihor Sevcenko, Dumbarton Oaks Professor of Byzantine History and Literature Emeritus in the Department of the Classics, was awarded an honorary doctorate of liberal arts from the Catholic University of Lublin (Poland) this past June. Founded in 1918 by the Episcopate of Poland, the university is the oldest Catholic higher education institution in this region of Europe.

Harvard’s Honoring Nations names new program manager

Jackie Old Coyote, an enrolled member of the Apsaalooke (Crow) Nation in Montana, has been selected to serve as the program manager of the Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development’s Honoring Nations Program.

Old Coyote, who is also of Ho-Chunk descent, is a former visiting administrative fellow to the Harvard University Native American Program where she honed her interests in development of student services and community outreach. In this position, she assumed the responsibilities of site coordinator for College Horizons at Harvard College 2005, a five-day summer program for Native American high school students.

James K. Rowlett wins CPDD investigator award

At its annual meeting this past June in Orlando, Fla., the College on Problems of Drug Dependence (CPDD) awarded Assistant Professor of Psychobiology James K. Rowlett with its Joseph Cochin Young Investigator Award. Rowlett was named a co-recipient of the award, which is given annually in recognition of early career excellence in the science of drug addiction. Thomas E. Eissenberg of Virginia Commonwealth University was the other co-recipient.

Chemist Xie named Biophysical Society fellow

Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology Xiaoliang Sunney Xie was recently named one of six new members to have been named to the 2006 class of fellows by the Biophysical Society. Xie was named a fellow for his significant contributions to single-molecule biophysics and cellular imaging. Founded in 1956, the society is a professional, scientific organization established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks