Campus & Community


2 min read

Joslin Diabetes Center scientist elected to NAS

Professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School Christophe O. Benoist, co-head of the Section on Immunology and Immunogenetics at Joslin Diabetes Center, was recently elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Benoist, joint holder of the William T. Young Chair in Diabetes Research, was among 72 new members and 18 foreign associates from 14 countries honored for “distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.”

Ronald Walsworth receives APS award

Senior lecturer on physics Ronald Walsworth received the 2005 Francis M. Pipkin Award from the American Physical Society (APS) at its April meeting in Tampa, Fla. Walsworth, who is also a physicist at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, was cited for his “broad investigation in precision measurements involving masers.” In particular, for using hydrogen and noble-gas masers in achieving record sensitivities to violations of Lorentz and CPT symmetry in neutrons and protons, and for innovative applications of masers to imaging.

Distributed every two years, the Pipkin Award honors exceptional research accomplishments by a young scientist in the interdisciplinary area of precision measurement and fundamental constants.

Christoph Wolff accepts honorary degree

Adams University Professor Christoph Wolff was awarded an honorary doctor of philosophy degree in Weimar, Germany, last month at a special joint ceremony of Friedrich Schiller University, Jena, and Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Weimar.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks