Campus & Community

Fourteen of AAAS’ new fellows are Harvard faculty

2 min read

American Academy of Arts and Sciences names 196 new fellows and 17 honorary members

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences recently announced the election of 196 new fellows and 17 new foreign honorary members. Among this latest class of leaders in scholarship, business, the arts, and public affairs are 14 Harvard faculty members. The academy will welcome this year’s new fellows and foreign honorary members at its annual induction ceremony in October at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

See the complete list

Harvard’s new academy inductees include William C. Kirby, dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; C. Vafa, Donner Professor of Science; David Bloom, Clarence James Gamble Professor of Economics and Demography at the Harvard School of Public Health; John Henry Coatsworth, Monroe Gutman Professor of Latin American Affairs; James Engell, professor of English and comparative literature; Yve-Alain Bois, Joseph Pulitzer Jr. Professor of Modern Art; Robert J. Sampson, Henry Ford II Professor of the Social Sciences; Stephen M. Walt, Robert and Renee Belfer Professor of International Affairs at the Kennedy School of Government; Jay William Lorsch, Louis E. Kirstein Professor of Human Relations at Harvard Business School; Elena Kagan, dean of the Faculty of Law at Harvard Law School (HLS); Duncan Kennedy, Carter Professor of General Jurisprudence at HLS; Tom Rapoport and Alfred L. Goldberg, professors of cell biology at Harvard Medical School (HMS); and Louis M. Kunkel, professor of pediatrics and genetics at HMS.

“It gives me great pleasure to welcome these outstanding leaders in their fields in this, the academy’s 225th year,” said academy president Patricia Meyer Spacks. “Fellows are selected through a highly competitive process that recognizes individuals who have made pre-eminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large.”

All fellows and foreign honorary members are nominated and elected by current academy members. The current membership includes more than 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. An independent policy research center, the academy undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Current academy research focuses on science, global security, social policy, culture, and education.