Campus & Community

APS elects seven Harvard faculty

1 min read

Seven Harvard faculty members were recently elected as members of the American Philosophical Society (APS). The nation’s oldest learned society, APS is devoted to the advancement of scientific and scholarly inquiry. In the mathematical and physical sciences, the society elected Clowes Professor of Science Robert P. Kirshner. For biological sciences, Maria Moors Cabot Professor of Biology Richard Losick, Peter and Isabel Malkin Professor of Public Policy Robert Putnam, and Mary Waters, professor of sociology, were elected. In the social sciences, Peter Galison, the Mallinckrodt Professor of the History of Science and of Physics, was elected. Lastly, Stanley Cavell, Walter M. Cabot Professor of Aesthetics and the General Theory of Value Emeritus, and Victor S. Thomas Professor of Anthropology Emerita Sally Falk Moore were elected in the humanities.