Campus & Community


2 min read

Luis M. Viceira wins Silver Scroll Prize

Harvard Business School Associate Professor Luis M. Viceira has won the Silver Scroll Prize for Innovation from the Institute for Quantitative Investment Research for “The Term Structure of the Risk-Return Trade-Off,” a paper he co-authored with John Y. Campbell, the Otto Eckstein Professor of Applied Economics.

Karplus accepts Pauling Medal Award

Theodore William Richards Professor of Chemistry Martin Karplus received the 39th annual Pauling Medal Award on Oct. 30 at the University of Washington, Seattle. Karplus also delivered a talk titled “How Proteins Work: Insights from Simulations.”


Named after Linus Pauling, the medal is given in honor of outstanding contributions to chemistry of “a character that have merited national and international recognition.”

Wolff elected president of commission mixte of RISM

Christoph Wolff, Adams University Professor, has been elected president of the commission mixte of the Répertoire International des Sources Musicale (RISM), co-sponsored by the International Musicological Society and the International Association of Music Libraries. RISM, a long-term project founded in 1949, prepares inventories of historical sources of music throughout the world and makes them available in printed catalogs and online.

In addition, Wolff will be presented with the Harrison Medal by the Society for Musicology in Ireland on Nov. 22 in Dublin. He is the first recipient of this newly created award.