Campus & Community


4 min read

Kleinman receives Doubleday Award

Esther and Sidney Rabb Professor of Anthropology Arthur Kleinman was awarded the Doubleday Award at the University of Manchester, United Kingdom, on Oct. 21. As the award-holder, Kleinman, who is a professor of medical anthropology and psychiatry at Harvard, delivered a lecture to the University of Manchester Medical School titled “The Moral Basis of Medicine: Threats to the Moral Experience of Patients and Doctors.”


The Dr. Edwin Doubleday Fund is a charity devoted to the promotion of interest in nonclinical aspects of patient care in medical training.

Stavins appointed to EPA advisory board

Robert Stavins, the Albert Pratt Professor of Business and Government at the Kennedy School of Government, and director of the Environmental Economics Program at Harvard University, has been appointed by the administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to membership on the EPA’s Science Advisory Board (SAB) for a three-year term. The appointment to the board – the executive body that coordinates and leads various technical committees – is effective immediately.

ACHE honors Shinagel with recognition award

The Association for Continuing Higher Education Inc. (ACHE) recently presented a special recognition award to Michael Shinagel, dean of Continuing Education and University Extension, at the association’s annual meeting in Newport, R.I.

In presenting the award, ACHE applauded Shinagel’s 30-year career as a leader in the field of continuing education. “In leading one of the preeminent continuing education providers, Shinagel has been a powerful spokesperson for the field at large,” cited the association.

Earlier this year, Shinagel was the recipient of the Julius M. Nolte Award for Extraordinary Leadership from the University Continuing Education Association.

Gerald Holton to address Einstein Forum conference

Research Professor of the History of Science Gerald Holton, the Mallinckrodt Research Professor of Physics, has been invited to present the keynote address at the international conference “Einstein – The Man and His Century,” to be held in Berlin this January. Sponsored by the Einstein Forum, the conference will include scholars from six countries and kick off a year of worldwide symposia on the famed physicist’s work and influence. The new year will mark the centenary of Einstein’s theory of relativity and other papers that radically changed the field.


Three researchers receive EPA’s STAR fellowship

Three Harvard researchers recently joined more than 120 researchers from across the country to receive fellowships from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). They are Stephanie King, research assistant in the Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences; Catherine Linnen, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Ph.D. candidate; and Duane McKenna, teaching fellow in Organismic and Evolutionary Biology.

Science to Achieve Results (STAR) graduate fellowships are designed to address the most important environmental work force needs in the United States. The EPA is now accepting applications for its 2005 fellowships. Visit for more information. The deadline for preliminary applications is Nov. 23.

Carlton Club elects Hedley-Whyte as honorary life member

John Hedley-Whyte, the David S. Sheridan Professor of Anaesthesia and Respiratory Therapy, has been elected an honorary life member of the Carlton Club. Founded in 1831 by the Duke of Wellington, the club is “the traditional home of Conservatism” according to Margaret Thatcher’s autobiography “The Downing Street Years.” The club was, and is, “established to promote the principles and objects of the Conservative and Unionist Party.”

As a professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management of the School of Public Health, Hedley-Whyte took part in the Carlton Club’s symposia and political planning on health care.

Shapiro receives honorary degree

Benson P. Shapiro, the Malcolm P. McNair Professor of Marketing Emeritus at Harvard Business School, has received an honorary doctorate from Athens University of Economics and Business. The degree recognized Shapiro as one of the world’s leading authorities in the field of marketing and in business-to-business marketing in particular.

SHOT awards Landes

The Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) has named David Landes, Coolidge Professor of History and professor of economics emeritus, as the winner of this year’s Leonardo Da Vinci Medal. The society’s highest recognition, the Da Vinci Medal has been presented annually since 1962 to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the history of technology through research, teaching, publications, and other activities.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks