Campus & Community


2 min read

Faculty to receive HMS-HDS mentoring awards

Seven faculty members of Harvard Medical School (HMS) will receive Excellence in Mentoring Awards, co-sponsored by HMS and the School of Dental Medicine (HDS), at a June 23 ceremony at the Tosteson Medical Education Center Building.

The honorees for the William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award are Ronald A. Arky, Charles S. Davidson Distinguished Professor of Medicine, and P. Reed Larsen, professor of medicine. Recipients of the A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award include professor of radiation oncology Anthony V. D’Amico, professor of medicine Anne Klibanski, Sidney Farber Professor of Pathology Stanley J. Korsmeyer, professor of medicine Diane J. Mathis, and associate professor of radiology Lucila Ohno-Machado.

Professor of psychiatry Gary L. Gottlieb, president of Brigham and Women’s Hospital, will deliver the keynote address, “Mentoring: The Critical Ingredient for Great Leaders of the Future.”

Teaching fellows to join Dibner Institute

The Dibner Institute for the History of Science and Technology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has awarded fellowships to Luis Campos and Abena Dove Osseo-Asare, both teaching fellows in the Department of the History of Science at Harvard.

At the institute, Campos will continue work on his dissertation on the strong connection between radioactivity and the origins of life in the first decades of the 20th century. Osseo-Asare will further pursue her research, “Representing Poison: Scientists, Healers and the Transformation of Plant Medicine in Ghana (1850-2000),” which examines the interactions between scientists and healers vying for control of information on therapeutic plants.

Both graduates of Harvard College, Campos and Osseo-Asare are two of seven graduate students to be named fellows by the institute for the 2004-05 academic year.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks