Campus & Community

Ten Harvard scholars elected to AAAS

2 min read

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) announced earlier this week the election of 178 new fellows and 24 new foreign honorary members. The 2004 class, comprising world-renowned leaders in scholarship, business, the arts, and public affairs, includes 10 Harvard faculty members.

The new members from Harvard are James E. Alt, Frank G. Thompson Professor of Government; Mario Davidovsky, Fanny P. Mason Professor of Music; Catherine Dulac, professor of molecular and cellular biology and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; Barbara J. Grosz, Higgins Professor of Natural Sciences; Steven E. Hyman, University provost; Eric N. Jacobsen, Sheldon Emery Professor of Chemistry; Daniel J. Meltzer, Story Professor of Law and vice dean for physical planning; Lisa Randall, professor of physics; Nancy L. Rosenblum, Sen. Joseph Clark Professor of Ethics in Politics and Government; and Rubie S. Watson, curator of comparative ethnology in the Peabody Museum.

“I am honored to welcome these outstanding and influential individuals to the nation’s oldest and most illustrious learned society,” said Patricia Meyer Spacks, academy president. “These new members have made extraordinary contributions to their fields and disciplines through their commitment to the advancement of scholarly and creative work in every field and profession.”

“The American Academy is unique among academies for its breadth and scope,” added Leslie C. Berlowitz, the academy’s executive officer. “Throughout its history, the academy has gathered individuals with diverse perspectives to participate in studies and projects focusing on advancing intellectual thought and constructive action. We know that this year’s members will continue the academy’s tradition of cherishing knowledge in service to society.”

A group of scholar-patriots, including John Adams and John Hancock, founded the academy in 1780 “to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people.” The unique structure of the American Academy allows it to conduct interdisciplinary studies on international security, social policy, education, and the humanities that draw on the range of academic and intellectual disciplines of its members. The current membership of over 4,500 includes more than 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.

In October, AAAS will welcome this year’s fellows and foreign honorary members at the academy’s Cambridge headquarters.