Campus & Community


2 min read

Harvard Foundation names Scientist of the Year

The Harvard Foundation has honored noted mathematician Jonathan David


Farley ’91 as its Distinguished Scientist of the Year. A visiting associate professor of applied mathematics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Farley will be awarded the foundation’s Science Medal bearing the signature of Harvard President Lawrence H. Summers during the foundation’s annual Science Conference March 19-20.

After graduating summa cum laude at Harvard College in 1991 at the top of his class, Farley went on to earn a Ph.D. in mathematics at Oxford. While at Oxford, Farley won some of the university’s highest mathematical awards. The Harvard Foundation will honor Farley on March 19 at a Pforzheimer House luncheon. The noon event is open to all Harvard ID holders. And on March 20, a series of mathematics-related lectures, workshops, and presentations will be held at the Science Center from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. for area public school students. Harvard professors and college students will conduct the presentations as part of the foundation’s “Partner’s in Science Program.”

Banaji receives honorable mention for Allport Prize

For this year’s Gordon Allport Intergroup Relations Prize – presented to the best paper or article on intergroup relations – the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues has awarded Richard Clarke Cabot Professor of Social Ethics Mahzarin Banaji an honorable mention for her paper “Implicit and explicit ethnocentrism: Revisiting the ideologies of prejudice.” Banaji, who is also the Carol Koehler Pforzheimer Professor, received the honorable mention with the paper’s coauthors: William A. Cummingham of Yale, and John B. Nezlek from the College of William and Mary.