Campus & Community


4 min read

GSE names Fogel dean for administration

Business School leader Robert Fogel assumed the deanship for administration at the Harvard Graduate School of Education (GSE) on Sept. 4. Most recently, Fogel served as president and CEO of Harvard Business School (HBS) Interactive – an executive education program that delivers customized management education programs utilizing technology to optimize in-class learning. A graduate of HBS, Fogel has also served as the executive director of executive education at HBS, which provides leadership education to over 6,000 executive participants annually.

As dean for administration, Fogel will assume duty for overseeing GSE’s administrative functions, including finance, technology services, human resources, student affairs, and library services.

Dees featured in two new publications

The writings of Graduate School of Education doctoral candidate Deidra Suwanee Dees of the Poarch Muscogee Nation (Alabama) have recently been published by Guild Press and TA Publications. In “Forced From the Garden” (Guild Press, 2003) – a textbook that features a collection of scholarly literature by women writers addressing cross-cultural issues – Dees writes about postcolonial Muscogee life, including her experiences of growing up in poverty. Her writings are also featured in “Joining the Circle” (TA Publications, 2003), a collection of literature by Native American writers. “Joining the Circle” was published for the Writers Workshop of the annual Eastern Shawnee Pow Wow – a gathering of indigenous nations that was held earlier this month.

Italian university bestows honorary degree on Gardner

Howard Gardner, Hobbs Professor of Cognition and Education at the Graduate School of Education, has received an honorary degree from the University of Urbino, Italy, for his contributions to the science of education. The citation referred to Gardner’s attempts to connect cognitive science and neuroscience to questions of learning and pedagogy.

Robert Stavins named to board of directors of RFF

Albert Pratt Professor of Business and Government Robert Stavins of the Kennedy School of Government has been named to the board of directors of Resources for the Future (RFF), a leading think tank in environmental and resource economics and policy. Created in 1952, RFF focuses its research in a variety of areas, including climate change, electricity restructuring, and on the connections between urban development, transportation, and the environment.

Graceland’s Mark Olson named assistant director of bands

Former visiting professor and interim director of bands at Graceland University Mark Olson has been appointed Harvard’s assistant director of bands. After earning his bachelor of music degree in music education and trumpet performance from Concordia College, Olson taught for nine years in Minnesota’s public school system. He earned his master of arts degree in music education and is a candidate for a Ph.D. in music at the University of Minnesota. Currently working on his dissertation, Olson has performed trumpet as a member of the Mankato Symphony Orchestra, the Austin Symphony Orchestra, and the Winona Brass Band.

Crimson hockey scores Reilly

Gene Reilly has been named an assistant coach for Harvard’s men’s ice hockey team. Reilly, who most recently served as an assistant coach with the Binghamton Senators of the American Hockey League (AHL), replaces Nate Leaman, who resigned this summer to take the head coaching position at Union College.

Prior to his efforts with the Senators organization, Reilly spent three years at the University of Maine, where he helped the Black Bears to three NCAA Tournament appearances, including the 1999 national championship.

Shinagel awarded honorary degree

Last month, the Universidad Argentina de la Empresa in Buenos Aires awarded Michael Shinagel, Harvard’s dean of Continuing Education and University Extension, the degree of doctor honoris causa. The honorary degree was awarded in recognition of Shinagel’s long and distinguished career in continuing higher education.

Shinagel was scheduled to receive the honorary degree in person, but because of an emergency operation he was unable to attend. He accepted the award in absentia and is recuperating well.

APSA honors Nye

The American Political Science Association (APSA) named Kennedy School Dean Joseph S. Nye Jr. a recipient of its Charles E. Merriam Award at the association’s annual meeting in August. Nye was honored for his contributions to government through social science research, and joins 21 other scholars, journalists, and politicians to be honored.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks