Campus & Community

APS elects seven Harvard faculty

1 min read

The American Philosophical Society (APS) – the country’s oldest learned society – has elected seven Harvard faculty members among its most recent class of inductees.

In the mathematical and physical sciences, APS elected Barbara J. Grosz, Higgins Professor of Natural Sciences, and Christopher T. Walsh, Hamilton Kuhn Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology. For social sciences, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, James Duncan Phillips Professor of Early American History, and Sidney Verba, Carl H. Pforzheimer Professor, were elected. In the humanities, Joseph Connors, director of the Center for the Italian Renaissance (Villa I Tatti); Michael McCormick, Francis Goelet Professor of Medieval History; and Gloria Pinney, professor of classical archaeology and art, were elected.