Campus & Community


3 min read

Co-authors claim Samuelson Award
Assistant Professor of Business Administration Luis M. Viceira and Otto Eckstein Professor of Applied Economics John Y. Campbell have been named co-winners of the seventh annual Paul A. Samuelson Award for their book “Strategic Asset Allocation: Portfolio Choice for Long-term Investors” (Oxford University Press, 2002). Administered by the TIAA-CREF Institute, the award recognizes outstanding original scholarship on lifelong financial security that has practical implications for individuals and financial planners.

Hoyte to co-chair ‘Rock the Boat’ gala
James Hoyte, associate vice president for Equal Opportunity Programs and co-program director of the Working Group on Environmental Justice at Harvard, will serve as co-chair of the Mattapan Community Health Center’s seventh annual “Rock the Boat” gala on April 26. Proceeds will support the center’s Family and Community Health Programs and Services. For more information, call (617) 296-8943.

Two undergrads named Ledecky Fellows
Junior Lee Hudson Teslik and freshman Rebecca Davis O’Brien have been named Harvard Magazine’s Berta Greenwald Ledecky Undergraduate Fellows for the 2003-04 academic year. Fellows join the magazine’s staff for the academic year, and write a regular column, “The Undergraduate,” as well as news stories and alumni features. They will also provide general editorial assistance, and become involved in all phases of the magazine’s production.
Teslik, a Currier House resident, is concentrating in history and literature. In 2002-03, he has studied French in Lisieux, France; volunteered at Balkan Sunflowers in Pristina, Kosovo; and is currently working as an intern at the International Herald Tribune in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France.
O’Brien, who will reside in Kirkland House next year, is a reporter and illustrator at the Harvard Crimson and has interned at the New York Times. She is particularly interested in politics, public policy, and journalism concerning those topics.
Teslik and O’Brien will succeed this year’s fellows, Garrett M. Graff ’03 and Phoebe M.W. Kosman ’05.
Support for the fellowship is provided by Jonathan J. Ledecky ’79, M.B.A. ’83.

Wang named Weintraub Award winner
Harvard Medical School Ph.D. candidate Kevin C. Wang (Department of Neurobiology) has been selected to receive the 2003 Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award, sponsored by the Basic Sciences Division of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. Sixteen recipients, all advanced students at or near the completion of their studies in the biological sciences, will participate in a scientific symposium at Fred Hutchinson¹s South Lake Union Campus in Seattle, May 2-3. – Compiled by Andrew Brooks