Campus & Community

Three professors win mentoring awards :

2 min read

Bazerman, Rowland, Ruderman chosen by graduate students

The Graduate Student Council (GSC) of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS) will present the 2003 Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Awards to three Harvard faculty members. This year’s recipients are Max H. Bazerman, Jesse Isidor Straus Professor of Business Administration; Ann Rowland, assistant professor of English and American Literature and Language; and Joan Ruderman, Marion V. Nelson Professor of Cell Biology.

Through graduate student submissions, the award recognizes professors with an outstanding commitment to the craft of mentoring. The awards will be conferred today (March 13) at the Fifth Annual Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Awards reception in the Reading Room of the Harvard Faculty Club at 5:30 p.m. All members of the Harvard community are invited to attend.

The awards reception aims to publicly recognize some of Harvard’s most dedicated teachers of graduate students. Awards are reserved for exceptional individuals who show a remarkable concern for cultivating academic and professional skills in the graduate students they train, as well as the attention they pay to their scholarly goals and personal well-being. The many nominations made this year show that mentoring is a craft that flourishes across the Harvard campus.

Noted mentoring expert Mary Gaylord, professor of Romance languages and literatures, will deliver the keynote address at the reception. GSAS Dean Peter Ellison and Master of Dudley House Jim Hogle, the Edward S. Harkness Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, will also speak.