Campus & Community


1 min read

Co-authors receive TIAA-CREF award

The TIAA-CREF Institute, a research and education unit of TIAA-CREF, has announced that Otto Eckstein Professor of Applied Economics John Y. Campbell and Assistant Professor of Business Administration Luis M. Viceira won this year’s Paul A. Samuelson Award. Named in honor of the Nobel laureate economist and former CREF trustee, this award recognizes outstanding research of significant relevance to the improvement of Americans’ lifelong financial security. Campbell and Viceira won the award for their book “Strategic Asset Allocation: Portfolio Choice for Long-Term Investors” (Oxford University Press, 2002).

Carillon wins Wells Prize

Harvard Business School Assistant Professor Estelle Carillon, who earned her Ph.D. in economics from the University in 2000, has won the David A. Wells Prize for her dissertation, “Essays in Auction and Theory and Political Economy.” The prize, which recognizes the Harvard Economics Department’s best doctoral dissertation, is awarded only when an “exceptional thesis is produced.” Past winners include Bishop William Lawrence University Professor Michael E. Porter and Nobel laureates Paul A. Samuelson and A. Michael Spence.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks