Campus & Community


2 min read

Russian Academy elects Lamberg-Karlovsky

C.C. Lamberg-Karlovsky, the Stephen Phillips Professor of Archaeology and Ethnology, was elected to the Russian Academy of Sciences and conferred an honorary doctorate of science on Aug. 27 at the academy’s Moscow headquarters.

GSD to honor award-winning designer

Harvard’s Graduate School of Design (GSD) will award the 2002 Veronica Rudge Green Prize to designer Adriaan Geuze and his firm, West 8 Landscape Architects of Rotterdam, Netherlands, for the award-winning Borneo-Sporenburg housing project in Amsterdam. Dean Peter G. Rowe and jury chair Rodolfo Machado, professor of architecture and urban design, will introduce Geuze and present him with the prize on Dec. 4 at 6:30 p.m. at the School’s Piper Auditorium. An accompanying exhibition charting the evolution of the firm’s project will be on display at Gund Hall from Nov. 25 through Jan. 12, 2003.

Perkins appointed Asia Center director

Dwight H. Perkins, Harold Hitchings Burbank Professor of Political Economy, has been appointed the new director of the Asia Center. Perkins previously served as the director of the Harvard Institute of International Development from 1980 to 1995.

HDS lecturer honored

Louis F. Rose, lecturer on periodontology at Harvard’s School of Dental Medicine (HDS), has been named the 2002 Special Citation Award recipient by the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP). Rose received the award in recognition of his efforts as chair of last year’s annual AAP meeting.

B-ball coach Hall of Fame bound

Harvard women’s basketball coach Kathy Delaney-Smith, now entering her 21st season at the helm, will be inducted into the New England Basketball Hall of Fame on Friday (Oct. 4) at the University of Rhode Island’s Ryan Center. Just four wins shy of 300 for her career, Delaney-Smith has guided the Crimson to seven Ivy titles and four NCAA appearances.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks