Campus & Community


2 min read

Meselson wins ASCB’s Public Service Award

The American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) will present Matthew Meselson, Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of the Natural Sciences, with its Public Service Award at the society’s 42nd annual meeting in San Francisco on Dec. 15. Meselson, co-director of the Harvard-Sussex Program on Chemical and Biological Weapons (CBW) Armament and Arms Limitation, was selected to receive the award for his contributions toward preventing the use of, and protecting against, biological and chemical weapons.

Associate director of UTEP named

Christopher C. Kim ’98 has been appointed associate director for the Undergraduate Teacher Education Program (UTEP), a joint program between the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School of Education. A graduate of UTEP, Kim returns to Harvard after several years of teaching in the Boston area.

NYAC elects two of Harvard’s own

The board of governors of the New York Academy of Sciences (NYAC) has selected Dudley R. Herschbach, the Frank B. Baird Jr. Professor of Science, and Ernst Mayr, Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology Emeritus, as Honorary Life Members. The honorees were formally announced during the academy’s annual business meeting in September.

Gomes receives honorary doctorate

The Rev. Professor Peter J. Gomes, Plummer Professor of Christian Morals and Pusey Minister in the Memorial Church, received an honorary doctor of divinity degree from Baker University in Baldwin City, Kan., on Oct. 1. The honorary degree was presented during the university’s convocation, at which Gomes was the speaker. His speech was titled “An Act of Defiance and the Search for Something More: The Case for the Small Christian Liberal Arts College.”

– Compiled by

Andrew Brooks