Campus & Community

Annual Hunn Awards given for outstanding longtime service:

2 min read

Five alumni/ae recognized outstanding “Schools and Scholarships” work

Enjoying Dean Fitzsimmons'
Alumni/ae award recipients Emilie de Brigard ’64 (above right), E. Tefft Barker ’37 (third from right), and John A. Baruch ’50 (fourth from right) enjoy Dean Fitzsimmons’ talk. Staff photos by Ruby Arguilla

Five alumni/ae were recognized for their outstanding “Schools and Scholarships” work during an awards ceremony on Oct. 11.

Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid William R. Fitzsimmons presented the annual Hunn Award for outstanding longtime service at the Faculty Club fete.

Those being recognized at this year’s awards ceremony included: Tefft Barker ’37, Sarasota, Fla., more than 60 years of service; John A. Baruch ’50, Morristown, N.J., 42 years of service; Carolyn Hughes ’54, Oceanside, N.Y., for Radcliffe in 1969 to the present as chair of the Harvard Schools Committee; Emilie de Brigard ’64, Higganum, Conn., 24 years of service; and Thomas G. Curtin ’66, Concord, almost 30 years of service.

Hughes and
Carolyn Hughes ’54 shakes hands with Fitzsimmons after receiving her award.

There are more than 6,000 alumni/ae volunteers worldwide who do “Schools and Scholarships” work for the Admissions Office. The volunteers recruit prospective applicants and interview actual candidates if geography permits. The factual and personal information provided by these volunteers helps the Admissions Office make difficult choices in an increasingly growing and talented pool of applicants. The “Schools and Scholarships” groups operate under the aegis of Harvard Clubs all over the globe and have been active as outreach agencies for the Admissions Office for more than 50 years. This year’s recipients collectively represent more than 185 years of service.

Thomas G. Curtin
Recipient Thomas G. Curtin ’66 (far left) accepts his award.

The award is named in honor of Hiram S. Hunn ’21 who did volunteer work for “Schools and Scholarships” for 55 years – 30 in Iowa and 25 in Vermont. The award was initiated in 1990 to help commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Harvard Alumni Association.