Campus & Community


3 min read

APS elects 6 to membership

The American Philosophical Society – the nation’s oldest learned society devoted to the advancement of scientific and scholarly inquiry – elected six Harvard faculty members at its annual meeting last month in Philadelphia. They are Howard C. Berg, professor of molecular and cellular biology; Sheldon Lee Glashow, Higgins Professor of Physics Emeritus; Stanley J. Korsmeyer, Sidney Farber Professor of Pathology; Dwight H. Perkins, Harold Hitchings Burbank Professor of Political Economy; Charles Rosenberg, Ernest E. Monrad Professor of the Social Sciences; and Christoph Wolff, William Powell Mason Professor of Music.

Australia honors Hatch

History Department administrator Janet Hatch has been appointed an honorary member in the General Division by the Order of Australia for her service to Australian Studies. Hatch has provided services as the Australian Studies committee coordinator, managing such ancillary activities as the Australian Film Festival and the Harvard-Australia Symposium in 1997.

Alexander Keyssar wins Genovese Prize

The Historical Society has awarded the Eugene Genovese Best Book in American History Prize to Alexander Keyssar for his book “The Right to Vote: The Contested History of Democracy in the United States” (Basic Books, 2000). Keyssar is the Matthew W. Stirling Jr. Professor of History and Social Policy at the Kennedy School of Government. The prize carries an honorarium of $5,000.

Lingman swings Rookie of the Year

Susanna Lingman, a freshman on the Harvard women’s tennis team, has been named the Ivy League Rookie of the Year. In compiling a 28-4 overall record and a 17-1 mark in dual matches, Lingman also earned First Team All-Ivy honors in both singles and doubles.

Chandler receives honorary degree

The University of Delaware has awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree to Alfred D. Chandler Jr., the Isidor Straus Professor of Business History Emeritus, at the Business School, recognizing him as the world’s foremost business historian. The citation noted Chandler’s role as the pre-eminent authority on the evolution of the modern corporation. A Delaware native, Chandler was in Wilmington, Del., to attend the Business History Conference, an association of business historians, where he received the organization’s first Lifetime Achievement Award.

Jones wins premier business history prizes

Geoffrey Jones, the Thomas Henry Carroll-Ford Visiting Professor of Harvard Business School, has won the premier business history prizes in both the United States and Great Britain for his book “Merchants to Multinationals: British Trading Companies in the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries” (Oxford University Press, 2000). The book was awarded the 2001 Wadsworth Business History Prize as the work by a British scholar that has made the most “significant contribution to the study of business history.” The volume also won the 1998-2000 Harvard-Newcomen Book Award in Business History. Conferred once every three years by the editorial board of Business History Review, the award recognizes the best work in the field of business history published in the United States.

Compiled by Andrew Brooks