Campus & Community


2 min read

Three selected for book-collecting prize

Two seniors and one freshman have been awarded the Visiting Committee Prize for Undergraduate Book Collecting. David Orenstein ’02 received a first prize of $1,000 for his essay and bibliography on China, focused on materials related to Shanghai. Second-prize-winner Jura Pintar ’05 received $750 for his entry “Praxis Philosophy and Book Collecting Practi[s]e: From Marxians to Martians?” Susan Long ’02 received third prize and $500 for her essay and bibliography on family-owned books.

Jacob, Ware receive grant

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) has awarded outright funds to Kathryn Jacob, curator of manuscripts at Schlesinger Library, for her project “The Post-World War II Women’s Movement in the United States,” and to Susan Ware, for volume five of “Notable American Women.” Ware is the editor of “Notable American Women.”

Junior, freshman named Ledecky recipients

Junior Garrett Graff and freshman Phoebe Kosman have been named Harvard Magazine’s Berta Greenwald Ledecky Undergraduate Fellows for the 2002-03 academic year. The students will join the magazine’s staff for the academic year and write a regular column, “The Undergraduate,” as well as news stories and alumni features. They also provide editorial assistance, and become involved in all phases of the magazine’s production.

Graff, who comes from Montpelier, Vt., is an executive editor of the Harvard Crimson. A history concentrator, he has written hundreds of articles as a Crimson reporter. This year, he has contributed news features to Harvard Magazine on the residential history of Massachusetts Hall, the debate team, a member of the Harvard University Police Department, and thefts from student extracurricular organizations.

Kosman is a native of Cape Cod. A history and literature concentrator, she is also a Harvard Crimson contributor. This summer, she may be found writing, or working on the Cape Cod Railroad.

Graff and Kosman will succeed this year’s fellows, Arianne Cohen ’03, and Eugenia (Jane) Levenson ’03.

Support for the fellowship is provided by Jonathan Ledecky ’79, M.B.A. ’83.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks