Campus & Community

This month in Harvard history

2 min read
  • June 19, 1638 – Shortly before this date, Nathaniel Eaton, first Master of the College, moves with his family from Charlestown into a house in the Yard. By Sept. 17, he has already assembled and begun teaching the first freshman Class of nine. Until the Bay Colony starts using coins for commerce, students for many years pay their tuition and living expenses in commodities ranging from agricultural products and livestock to boots, cloth, and hardware. 
  • June 20, 1659 – In response to a recent town/gown disorder, the Harvard Corporation reserves responsibility for policing the Yard while acknowledging the town’s right to enforce civic ordinances. 
  • June 1766 – Designed by colonial Gov. Sir Francis Bernard, the new Harvard Hall (still standing, with several later modifications) opens to replace its predecessor, destroyed by fire in 1764. The new hall is the first Harvard structure to be built without chambers and studies. In addition to housing the library and a laboratory, it boasts the College’s first rooms designed for lectures or recitations. Students eat meals here until commons moves to University Hall in 1815. Before the 1874 dedication of partially completed Memorial Hall, Harvard Hall is also the scene of Commencement dinners and Class Day dances.– From the Harvard Historical Calendar, a database compiled by Marvin Hightower