Campus & Community


2 min read

Shavell assumes presidency of law association

Steven Shavell

Steven Shavell, the Samuel R. Rosenthal Professor of Law at Harvard Law School (HLS), has assumed the presidency of the American Law and Economics Association. In his presidential address at the U.S. Supreme Court, Shavell, the director of the John M. Olin Center for Law, Economics, and Business at HLS, discussed the value of morality versus law as a regulator of conduct.

Jennings honored for excellence

Maureen Jennings, office manager in the department of architecture at the Graduate School of Design (GSD), has been selected as the recipient of GSD’s annual Dean’s Award for Employee Excellence. Jennings received a bonus and time off for demonstrating outstanding initiative, leadership, and commitment to quality.

Bloom awarded honorary professorship

The University of Amsterdam (UvA) has awarded Harvard School of Public Health Dean Barry R. Bloom an honorary professorship. As one of the first honorary professors at UvA, Bloom, a professor in immunology and infectious diseases, will play a role in the scientific research conducted at the Dutch university.

Hajjar named Beeson Faculty Scholar

Harvard Medical School researcher Roger Hajjar has been named a 2001-2004 Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholar by the American Federation for Aging Research and the Alliance for Aging Research. As a Besson Scholar, Hajjar will receive a $450,000 grant for his research on cardiac gene transfer.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks