Campus & Community

Music Dept. announces fellows, award winners

4 min read

The Department of Music has announced its fellowship and award recipients. More than $150,000 went toward fellowship and award programs for the department’s graduate and undergraduate students.

The John Knowles Paine Traveling Fellowship is given to students who have demonstrated “distinguished talent and originality in musical composition and high musical scholarship.” The graduate recipients for the traveling fellowship are as follows:

Michael Cuthbert will attend a conference on the manuscript, Modena, Biblioteca Estense, in Italy.

Richard Giarusso will conduct research and language study at the Goethe Institute in Berlin.

Arni Ingolfsson will gather source material for his dissertation on the Icelandic “tvisongur,” and research ethnographic issues of the orally transmitted 19th century Icelandic music repertoire. Ingolfsson also received a Nino and Lea Pirrotta Research Fund grant for his research.

April James will attend Baroque dance workshops at Rutgers, the Longy School, and the Amherst Early Music Festival.

Helen Lee will participate in composition workshops at the Institute of Research and Coordination in Acoustics/Music (IRCAM) in Paris, and attend an intensive eight-week language study course at the Goethe Institute in Berlin.

Kiri Miller will attend seven Sacred Harp conventions throughout the South, and do intensive work on a historical project concerning the Chattahoochee convention in Georgia.

Sarah Morelli will continue dissertation research on the development of North Indian classical music and musical culture in America through a musical ethnography of the Ali Akar College of Music in San Rafael, Calif.

Thomas Peattie will travel to Vienna, Austria, to work with the Vondenhoof Collection of the Austrian National Library, the Gustav Mahler Gesellschaft, and to Paris to use the Biblioteque Musicale Gustav Mahler. Peattie also received a Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS) Packard Fellowship for dissertation completion.

Julia Randel will study the film and videotapes of the Stravinsky-Balanchine works at the New York Public Library and the archives of the New York City Ballet.

Jesse Rodin will conduct German language study at the Goethe Institute in Berlin, and will pursue study of Salamone Rossi’s sacred music at the Biblioteque Nationale in Paris.

Eric Spangler will pursue a sound-documentary project dealing with the sounds and significance of waterways from New England to California. He also received the George Arthur Knight Composition Prize for “Gut Matrix.”

Benjamin Steege will take a course on Schoenberg in the former Arnold Schoenberg house in Moedling, Austria, and attend a festival commemorating the 50th anniversary of Schoenberg’s death in Vienna.

Bettina Varwig will undertake French language study at the Institut d’Etudes Françaises in Provence and at the Biblioteque Nationale in Paris.

Richard Whalley will attend a composition workshop at the Centre Acanthes in France.

Peter Whincop will research original manuscripts in Vienna, Berlin, Rome, and Cologne, and take a two-week composition course at IRCAM. Whincop also received a GSAS Term-Time Fellowship for the research.

The recipients of the 2001 Music Department Summer Stipend, awarded for general examination preparation, are Aaron Allen, Aaron Girard, Mary Greitzer, Zoe Lang, Eliyahu Shoot, Noriko Toda, and Ken Ueno. Ueno also received a GSAS Summer Fellowship and the Adelbert W. Sprague Prize for his composition “NoHowOn.”

Jeanne Guerrero received a Nino and Lea Pirrotta Research Fund grant to purse her study of the material housed in the Archivio Luigi Nono in Venice.

The recipients of the Oscar S. Schafer Award – given to graduate students who have demonstrated unusual ability and enthusiasm in their teaching of introductory courses – are Elliott Gyger, Roe-Min Kok, and Peter Whincop.

As the recipients of the Harry and Marjorie Anne Slim Memorial Scholarship Fund Fellowship, Christina Linklater will undertake language study at the Goethe Institute in Berlin and Matthew Peattie will attend the congress on musical signification at the International Semiotics Institute in Finland.

In addition, Judah Cohen received a GSAS Whiting Fellowship; Lansing McLoskey received the Francis Boott Composition Prize for “Break, Blowe, Burn”; Julie Rohwein received the Bohemians Prize for her composition “Triton”; and Andrew Talle received a GSAS Packard Fellowship.

Undergraduate fellowship and award program recipients are as follows:

Chris Trapani ’02 received the John Green Fellowship for his work in musical composition. The fellowship is awarded alternately each year to an undergraduate and graduate student.

Jennifer Caine ’01 received a John Knowles Paine Traveling Fellowship for travel in conjunction with her study at the Royal College of Music in London.

Jennifer Lee ’01 received a John Knowles Paine Traveling Fellowship for travel in Europe in conjunction with her studies at Oxford University.