Campus & Community


2 min read

Holdren wins 2000 Heinz Award for Public Policy

John Holdren, professor of environmental science and public policy in the department of earth and planetary sciences, and the Teresa and John Heinz Professor of Environmental Policy at the Kennedy School of Government, has been named the winner of the 2000 Heinz Award for Public Policy. Holdren receives the award for “his prodigious contributions to such complex issues as arms control, sustainable development, and global energy resources.”

Holdren will receive his award at a private ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Brustein receives Commonwealth Award

Robert Brustein, founder and artistic director of the American Repertory Theatre, has been selected as the Organizational Leadership recipient of the 2001 Commonwealth Awards – the state’s highest honor for contributions in the arts, humanities, and sciences. Brustein, an author, playwright, and professor of English, was recognized for “the highest standards of excellence and achievement.”

Rosenfield to be awarded Banto Prize in March

John Rosenfield, the Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Professor of East Asian Art Emeritus, will be awarded the 19th Yamagata Banto Prize on March 26 in Osaka, Japan, for his work “Extraordinary Persons: Eccentric, Nonconformist Japanese Artists in the Collection of Kimiko and John Powers.” The prize, established by the Osaka Prefectural Government, honors publications and authors for their contributions in the introduction of Japanese culture to foreign countries.

NACAC sponsors McGinty’s research at GSE

University supervisor and visiting scholar at the Graduate School of Education Sarah M. McGinty is a funded research scholar for the Multicultural Institute for the Advanced Thinking and Practice in Admission (MIATPA). Sponsored by the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC), McGinty’s research is on the role of college admission essays in the college admissions process. She is examining whether high school students and college admissions personnel share the same set of evaluative criteria.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks