Campus & Community


2 min read

Dunlop receives Gold Medal Award

The National Policy Association (NPA), a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that focuses on major economic and social problems facing the United States, presented John T. Dunlop, Lamont University Professor Emeritus, with the Gold Medal Award on Nov. 20. The award recognizes “exceptional leadership in promoting a more productive and just society.” Dunlop, the former Secretary of Labor with the Ford administration, is an NPA Trustee and a member of the organization’s Committee on New American Realities.

MFA awards Maud Morgan Prize to Shellburne Thurber

Photographer Shellburne Thurber, a Bunting Affiliate at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, received the Seventh Maud Morgan Prize for her work “Abandoned Mill House: Room with fireplace and disintegrating brick” (1998) at a ceremony on Dec. 12. Thurber, a Boston-based photographer, was a Bunting Fellow from 1999 to 2000.

The prize, awarded by the Museum of Fine Arts (MFA) in Boston, is given to a Massachusetts woman artist who has consistently been involved in making artwork for 10 or more years. Six of Thurber’s large-scale photographs, including the prize-winning “Abandoned Mill House,” will be on view in the MFA’s Lower Rotunda through Jan. 21.

Clare named to All-America Team

Harvard senior left tackle Mike Clare has been selected to the American Football Coaches’ Association (AFCA) Division I-AA All-America Team. Clare, who was also recently named First Team All-Ivy League and All-New England for the second straight year, anchored a Harvard offense that set several school records this fall.

In addition to his All-America honor, Clare has been chosen to play in the Kelly Tires Blue-Gray Classic, scheduled for Dec. 25 in Montgomery, Ala. He becomes the third Harvard selection in the past four years and the program’s eighth overall participant.

The captain of the 2000 Crimson, Clare was chosen Team MVP for his play.

Bailyn receives lifetime achievement award

Historian Bernard Bailyn, Adams University Professor Emeritus and James Duncan Phillips Professor of Early American History Emeritus, received the Bruce Catton Prize from the Society of American Historians at a ceremony in New York earlier this year. The $5,000 prize, which is funded by American Heritage, is awarded for lifetime achievement in historical writing.


Due to a production error, a credit was omitted from the story on daguerreotypes at Harvard. The image of the postmortem portrait of Samuel Charles Stowe should have been credited as follows: Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study. We regret the error.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks